Alice Milne House Museum
CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE
the museum is included on several guided walking tours year-round
Where to go
Where to park
There is not public parking at Milne Park and guests are not permitted to park along Harris Street. Please park at the Community Center at 103 South Harris Street.
About the museum
The Milne Home was originally built for John and Maggie McNamara in 1880, but only consisted of two rooms at the time – the back parlor and kitchen. In 1885-1886, they added the larger front parlor and bedroom and moved the outhouse from in front to its current location behind the house.
Further improvements around 1900 included adding the bedroom off the kitchen and the clapboard to the three exterior walls. As was common at the time, the log walls are covered with newspaper, extra cloth, crating material,
school papers, and flattened cans to help insulate against the bitter cold of winter. This home boasts one of the largest and best preserved newspaper wall coverings from that era.
What to expect
This highlight of this house museum is the newspaper wall coverings. A tour of the home is included on several guided walking tours. Click here for more FAQs.
History lovers and those interested in architecture and historic newspapers.
Did you know?
Alice Milne donated her historic home and the park surrounding it to the Town of Breckenridge with the stipulation that it remain a museum accessible to the public. The BHA is carrying on her wish and working to preserve this unique gem!
dates, times, and prices subject to change without notice; all activities weather dependent